[BOIR] Weekly Newsletter #44

Happy Juneteenth!

Good Day Rochester!

Happy Juneteenth baby (and Happy Father’s Day to those celebrating)! I have a confession to make. I didn’t grow up with Juneteenth. My grandma (who raised me) moved to NYC when she was 14 and kinda just left everything she knew in Charleston, SC.

She might have referenced Juneteenth 1-2 times but no real understanding and there wasn’t a strong internet presence (yes I might be aging myself). So I had no idea what Juneteenth was, meant, or celebrated. As an African American (Generational Black American) it saddens me to not know because of the active, harmful erasure that happens with Black history but we’re here now!

So we acknowledge and celebrate by supporting Black bizes and communities. However, the reason YOU are here is because you want to do this day after day, week after week, month after month, and year after year!

Thanks for being here!

A lot is going on in Rochester so let’s get started!

We are looking for newsletter sponsors! For $30 you can reach over 640 people!

Reply to this email and I’ll send the deets over

Things to Do

(this list is starting to expand quickly on the site)

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Black Owned in Rochester to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now